US Marijuana State Laws

What U.S. States Allow Marijuana

The following are the US marijuana state laws as they pertain to possession vs. patient medical marijuana licensing.

Alabama Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2.2 pounds is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times imposed for sales and cultivation charges
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Alaska Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with no penalties
  • Medical marijuana usage passed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 1 ounce usable weed
    2. 3 mature plants; 3 immature plants

Arizona Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2 pounds without a medical marijuana license can be a misdemeanor or a felony
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2.5 ounce usable weed
    2. 12 plants

Arkansas Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

California Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a civil infraction with no jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 8 ounce usable weed
    2. 6 mature plants; 12 immature plants

Colorado Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a petty offense with no jail time and a maximum $100 fine
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed

Connecticut Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 4 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Amounts over 4oz without a medical marijuana license is a felony
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Tax stamp laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. One month supply. Amount: to be determined
    2. Plants: To BE Determined

Delaware Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 6 ounce usable weed
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

District of Columbia Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2 ounce usable weed
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

Florida Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 20 grams is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

Georgia Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Hawaii Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 1 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 3 ounce usable weed
    2. 3 mature plants; 4 immature plants

Idaho Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 3 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Illinois Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 30 grams without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2.5 ounce usable during a 14 dayperiod
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

Indiana Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 30 grams is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Iowa Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Kansas Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Kentucky Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Louisiana Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum felony times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Maine Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2.5 ounces without a medical marijuana license is a civil violation with no jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2.5 ounce usable weed
    2. 6 plants

Maryland Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed

Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Tax stamp laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 60 Day Supply for Personal Medical Use
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

Michigan Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2.5 ounce usable weed
    2. 12 plants

Minnesota Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 42.5 grams is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Mississippi Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 30 grams is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

Missouri Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 35 grams is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Montana Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 ounce without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 1 ounce usable weed
    2. 4 mature plants; 12 immature plants (seedlings)

Nebraska Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1oz is a civil offense with no jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Nevada Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 1 ounce usable weed
    2. 3 mature plants; 4 immature plants

New Hampshire Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount wihtout a license is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2 ounce usable weed during a 10 day period
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

New Jersey Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 50 grams without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2 ounce usable weed
    2. Plants: To Be Determined

New Mexico Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 8 oz wihtout a license is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 6 ounce usable weed
    2. 4 mature plants; 12 immature plants

New York Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 8 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

North Carolina Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 ½ oz is a misdemeanor with a 4 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

North Dakota Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

Ohio Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 200 grams is a misdemeanor with a 1 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect

Oklahoma Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Oregon Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 24 ounce usable weed
    2. 6 mature plants; 18 immature plants

Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 30 grams is a misdemeanor with a 1 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect

Rhode Island Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 kilogram without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with no jail time
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2.5 ounce usable weed
    2. 12 plants

South Carolina Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor with a 1 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

South Dakota Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect

Tennessee Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Texas Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2 oz is a class-B misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Utah Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect
  • Tax stamp laws in effect

Vermont Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 2 oz without a medical marijuana license is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 2 ounce usable weed
    2. 2 mature plants; 7 immature plants

Virginia Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 1 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect

Washington Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 40 grams wihtout a license is a misdemeanor with a 3 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing allowed
  • Medical marijuana patient’s license allows:
    1. 24 ounce usable weed
    2. 15 plants

West Virginia Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Active hemp industry
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

Wisconsin Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum jail time
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed
  • Drugged driving laws in effect

Wyoming Marijuana Laws

  • Possession of less than 3 oz is a misdemeanor with a 12 month maximum jail time
  • Mandatory minimum times
  • Medical marijuana licensing not yet passed

Indicates those states which allow a legal medical marijuana license. For a more enhanced version of the laws for those states which offer medical marijuana licenses, please visit Legal Medical Marijuana States informational pages. US Marijuana State Laws

If you’ve always wanted to grow your own marijuana plants at home, why not start today?