Arizona Medical Marijuana License For Patients
Arizona Medical Marijuana License Info
The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act passed on November 2, 2010 by only .13% of the vote. This Act allows licensed patients to receive medical marijuana from a registered and not-for-profit (non-profit) medical marijuana dispensary. As well, to use said medical marijuana in the privacy of their own home to get relief from the debilitating condition their doctors have sworn to. The Arizona medical marijuana license process might be thorough but you can get a license faster than you expect following these simple guidelines.
As a registered medical marijuana patient in Arizona, you are required by law to register with the Arizona Department of Health. Your medical marijuana license will be on a web-based verification system for dispensaries and law enforcement to validate you indeed have a license to procure marijuana.
This Act also requires that the Arizona Dept of Health also create such a registration system along with a renewal process for the patient and dispensary. The Act also allows only a number of dispensaries to operate within the state.
Now remember that just because you are a registered Arizona medical marijuana patient does not allow you to traipse through the mall getting “relief”. Keep your meds at home. New laws are in effect to keep any and all marijuana (except for research by professionals) off of school campuses.
What You Will Need from Your Physician for an Arizona Medical Marijuana License
To get an Arizona medical marijuana license you will need a statement signed by your doctor that you were personally examined and that the examination took place in the context of a true physician/patient relationship and the date that the examination occurred.
You must also submit a statement that you will never give anyone else your marijuana. You will also need to come up with the grower, if that is you, if you are not within a 25 mile radius of a dispensary.
You doctor will need to give you a written certification on a form provided by the Arizona Department of Health containing the following information:
- Your name, address, date of birth, and Arizona driver’s license, passport or other government form of identification
- The application fee of $150, or $75 if you are on government assistance.
- The doctor’s name, address, and telephone number
- The name, address, date of birth, and Arizona driver’s license or other government ID of the primary caregiver if designated at the time of application, along with the statements required.
- If the patient is a minor, a statement by the minor’s parent or guardian that the patient’s doctor has explained the possible risks and benefits of medical marijuana and that the parent or guardian consents to serve as the primary caregiver for the patient and to control the acquisition, possession, dosage, and frequency of use.
Arizona Medical Marijuana License Laws
Section 36-2802 limits the restrictions on the use of medical marijuana. We have included excerpts below but if you want all of the legal information you can freely download the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act in it’s entirety by clicking this link: Arizona Medical Marijuana Act
(Adobe PDF reader will be needed)
Or, you can read about it on the following page: Arizona Medical Marijuana License Act
As a patient (or a primary/alternate caregiver) you may legally possess no more than two and a half ounces (2.5 oz) of usable marijuana in a 14 day period of time. But, if you live 25 or more miles from the nearest medical marijuana clinic you are allowed to grow up to twelve marijuana plants.
You may not do the following with your medical marijuana license or product:
- You may not openly display your marijuana outside the place where you can lawfully possess it
- You may not use medical marijuana in plain view of the general public
- You may not possess more than two and a half ounces (2.5 oz) of medical marijuana at any given time
- You may only be allowed to grow 12 plants if you live more than 25 miles away from a dispensary
- You may not use within 500 feet of a school
- You may not use on a school bus
- You may not use on any school grounds (preschool, primary or secondary)
- You may not use in a corrections facility
- You may not operate, navigate or be in physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft or boat while under the influence of marijuana…
Approved Conditions for an Arizona Medical Marijuana Patients License
- Chronic Pain
- HIV | AIDS
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Severe and Chronic Pain
Disclaimer: We are not attorneys or legal professionals. The information above is gathered from public sources and is our best interpretation. For this and any other legal matters please consult a qualified, reputable attorney.