Legal Medical Marijuana States
These US States Have Legal Medical Marijuana
While growing, dispensing or delivering marijuana is legal in 20 states, there are some pitfalls you’ll need to watch out for if you decide to go into business for yourself. If you’re a medical marijuana patient and want a license to legally purchase marijuana from a legal dispensary, please read the information we have put together on the table below. Please follow the state link to discover more information about the 20 legal medical marijuana states or the state in which you live.
With each new administration, there are always going to be rules enforced and frankly, some that they would rather not fight, especially when you are talking about lawsuits, court cases, arguments and having to win over the people who have entrusted you to serve.
While the federal government has relaxed it’s long arm of the law on the 20 legal medical marijuana states, that’s not to say the new administration will do the same. We wouldn’t call it a “blessing” of state’s pot laws, merely a slight of hand for the moment. So, we suggest you keep all your information legit, pay your taxes and be sure all your t’s are dotted and your i’s crossed.
While you may get responsibly baked, be sure you can do so legally too. Remember to keep your license with you at all times and keep your stash at home. How not to get arrested being a marijuana patient is important to your health and well being, it also keeps you out of mugshot databases. Here is our table on the legal medical marijuana states:
Legal Medical Marijuana States for Patients
|*** Please note: Laws change often in all states. Please check with your local & state website on this and any other legal matter or consult your attorney.|
|Alaska||1 oz; 3 Mature plants; 3 Immature plants||$20 – $25|
|Arizona||2.5 oz; 0-12 plants||$75 – $150|
|California||8 oz; 6 Mature or 12 Immature plants||$33 – $66|
|Colorado||2 oz; 3 Mature plants; 3 Immature plants||$35|
|Connecticut||One (1) Month Supply; Limits TBD||$UNK|
|District of Columbia||2 oz Dried; Limits TBD||$25 – $100|
|Hawaii||7 oz; 3 Mature plants; 4 Immature plants||$25|
|Illinois||2.5 ounces for a limit of 14 days||$UNK|
|Maine||2.5 oz; 6 Plants (M or I)||None|
|Massachusetts||60 Day Supply; Limit TBD||$UNK|
|Michigan||2.5 oz; 12 Plants||$25 – $100|
|Montana||1 oz; 4 Mature plants; 12 Immature plants||$10 – $25|
|Nevada||1 oz; 3 Mature plants; 4 Immature plants||$200|
|New Hampshire||1 ounce for a limit of 10 days||$UNK|
|New Jersey||2 ounces||$20 – $200|
|New Mexico||6 oz; 4 Mature plants; 12 Immature plants||None|
|Oregon||24 oz; 6 Mature plants; 18 Immature plants||$100 – $200|
|Rhode Island||2.5 oz; 12 Plants||$10 – $75|
|Vermont||2 oz; 2 Mature plants; 7 Immature plants||$50|
|Washington||24 oz; 15 Plants||None|
More information about the legal history of marijuana can be found on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_US_Marijuana_Law.
For a more abbreviated version of legal medical marijuana states and to see what the legal penalties are in states which do not allow medical marijuana, visit WeedPad’s US marijuana laws by state information page.